Archetype Design

Discussions pertinent to the rules rewrite

Moderator: Artemis

Re: Archetype Design

Postby Yoda » Sun Aug 25, 2013 6:44 pm

Three archetypes have that.

Navigators get their Navigator powers from theirs.
Psykers get their Psychic powers from theirs.
Tech-priests get their crafting from theirs.

None of these were well described within the talent structure, or suitable for adding in as talents on their own without imbalancing the archetypes.

If it seems unfair that those three have an Universal branch, then you may want to consider that while they get those abilities, that soaks XP that other archetypes can use to purchase skills or buy talents from other archetypes.
- Yoda.
Do you hear the voices too?!
User avatar
Yoda
Storyteller
Storyteller
Code Cultist
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:03 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Archetype Design

Postby Cathtice » Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:39 am

Are you planning on updating the minor archetype lists as well? I know that's probably just an administrative thing, but as the rules stand currently, I can have Stroke of Genius back if I switch out my major Sage archetype for a minor one... ;)

Best of luck, and thanks for sorting things out.
"Knowledge is power. Guard it well."
Cathtice
Midshipman
Midshipman
Solveig Kjartansdottir, Scholar and Gentlewoman
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:56 pm
Location: London

Re: Archetype Design

Postby Yoda » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:01 pm

All minor archetypes have their talents replaced by the new equivalents with the exception of Psychic Awakening which is special and I will publish that later.
- Yoda.
Do you hear the voices too?!
User avatar
Yoda
Storyteller
Storyteller
Code Cultist
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:03 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Archetype Design

Postby Simriel » Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:17 pm

This is related to archetype design, I think. with the intermediate branches are you limited to picking one? or can you buy talents from both branches? And someone told me you can only ever have ONE advanced power is this true?
Simriel
Midshipman
Midshipman
Commissar Tomas Rexuz
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Archetype Design

Postby mindwanders » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:41 pm

You can only pick one branch when you get to intermediate. Once you have bought an advanced power you can buy the other two intermediate powers.

If you have a third path, you can buy that alongside your other intermediate abilities.
Gordon McDonald
Captain Bartholomew Noxof the Milady De Winter
Former Ref
google.com/+GordonMcDonald
User avatar
mindwanders
Lord-Captain
Lord-Captain
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 8:40 pm

Re: Archetype Design

Postby Yoda » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:05 pm

This is all explained on the rules wiki.

Yes, you can only have one Advanced Talent with the specific exception of if you have access to an Universal Talent Branch in your primary Archetype. Otherwise it works as Gordon said.

All explained at http://rules.norestforthewicked.org.uk/Talents
- Yoda.
Do you hear the voices too?!
User avatar
Yoda
Storyteller
Storyteller
Code Cultist
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:03 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Previous

Return to Rules 2.0 Rewrites

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests